3.PEX is able to tolerate much higher and lower temperatures than PB. There are a few reasons this might happen: To regain access, please make sure that cookies and JavaScript are enabled before reloading the page. Specific markings perhaps? Myself and my neighbor just had to replace pipe. Novostella Smart LED Bulb Review Dirt Devil Easy Lite Canister Vacuum Review I have a Sears refrigerator, purchased in 2007. Hoover Steam Mop Review Roborock E25 Review I would trust the plumber though. So it is a good idea to be proactive and replace it. Even if the home was not built during these years, there is still a chance that it contains polybutylene pipes. I am not a lawyer. may i speak with someone about my gray pipes in my mobile home. But for a while now, been noticing some black residue getting in screen of bathroom sink. Shark ION R85 Review (RV850) 35 years now with no issues. Roborock H6 Review [7] PB Technology Center (information about PB Pipes) Tel: 800-338-7732, also see the 1990 PB Pipe recommendations published by the Polybutylene Product Line Committee of the Plastic Pipe and Fittings Association. Dyson Pure Cool TP02 Air Purifier Review From about the late 1970s through the early 1990s, millions of homes across the country were constructed with polybutylene piping, one of many new building materials that were lighter, cheaper, and easier to produce than traditional metal materials. If Townhomes next door has defective pipes then whole complex has a problem. Generally gray or white in color, but may also be blue, black, or silver. Though not banned, polybutylene pipes are no longer sold in the United States market. Mary-Anne Bowcott is a residential and commercial plumber, certified gas fitter, and owner of Westcom Plumbing and Gas Ltd. She received the 2016 and 2018 Sooke Region Chamber of Commerce Trades and Skilled Labour Excellence Award and the British Columbia Construction Industry Leadership Award in 2018. Polybutylene ( polybutene-1, poly (1-butene),